بيليز

بليز بلد صغير نسبيا من أمريكا الوسطى جزءا من ما غالبا يشار إليها باسم الأراضي الشمالية جنبا إلى جنب مع غواتيمالا والسلفادور وهندوراس. تواجه بليز وهذه مجموعة البلدان ألاخرى تصاعدا في اعمال العنف المرتبطة بأنشطة العصابات التي تفاقمت بسبب طريق المخدرات الفارض نفسه في جميع أنحاء أمريكا الوسطى. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن الافتقار إلى الفرص التي يواجهه الشباب في بليز، بسبب ارتفاع معدلات البطالة وانخفاض الحضور في المدارس الثانوية، على حد سواء لذلك والامر الذي يؤدي للعنف. تتركز أنشطة منظمة “ريت الدولية” في مدينة بليز ومنطقة كايو وتهدف إلى فتح فرص للشباب المعرضين للخطر من خلال خلق فرص العمل وبناء قدرات القيادية إيجابية. يمكن إيقاف الأزمة إذا كان الشباب أنفسهم أصبحوا أعضاء منتجين في المجتمع ورجال أعمال وجهات فاعلة في التغيير الاجتماعي الإيجابي

  • 1.
    الأزمة المؤثرة في بليز
  • 2.
    تأثيرها على الشباب
  • 3.
    كيف تحميهم منظمة "ريت"

1. الأزمة المؤثرة في بليز

على الرغم من بعض التحسن الاقتصادي، المنطقة المحيطة ببليز لا تزال واحدة من أكثر المناطق عنفا في العالم. وبالتالي، بليز عرضة لنفس الاتجاهات المتزايدة من العنف كما جاراتها في المثلث الشمالية وتستضيف أيضا المهاجرين واللاجئين الفارين من بؤرة الأزمة هذه. بليز، كما واقع الأمر، أيضا موطن لعدة عصابات شوارع شرسة متورطين في تجارة المخدرات، والاتجار بالأشخاص واستغلالهم في البغاء والجريمة العنيفة. تزايد عدد السكان، والهجرة إلى الداخل عالية وخدمات محدودة فقط تواجه تفاقم هذه المشكلة، مما يعرض بليز لخطر التحول إلى نفس دوامة كما جيرانها. المناطق الأكثر إشكالية في بليز هي المناطق الحضرية الكثيفة للغاية، بما في ذلك مدينة بليز ومنطقة كايو.

2. تأثيرها على الشباب

ستين في المائة من سكان بليز تحت 24 سنة، وبالتالي يلعب الشباب دورا هاما في تحديد السياق الاجتماعي على الصعيد الوطني. للأسف، يشارك الشباب في بليز على نحو متزايد في الأنشطة غير المشروعة التي تتراوح بين السرقة والجرائم الصغيرة و المشاركة في الاتجار تجارة المخدرات والأشخاص، وكذلك، في بعض الحالات، عصابات ذات الصلة بالقتل. ويرتبط هذا النشاط غير المشروع بعدم وجود الفرص التعليمية والمهنية والاجتماعية. وعلى الرغم من الاستثمار الحكومي الكبير في التعليم فقط نحو 45% من الشباب في سن المدرسة الثانوية يدرسون في المدرسة. خمسة وثلاثون في المئة يعيشون تحت خط الفقر، والبطالة 22٪ بين الشباب وهي تقريبا ضعف المعدل الوطني.

ويكمن التحدي الرئيسي، لذلك، ليس فقط لتوفير المزيد من الفرص، ولكن لضمان أن التدخلات الفردية يمكن أن توفر التغيير المستدام. الفرص يجب أن تكون عملية جدا للشباب ومجتمعاتهم وتقدم بطريقة منسقة، بناء على الخبرات والتجارب المحلية.

3. كيف تحميهم منظمة "ريت"

مشروعنا في بليز، بدأ في أواخر عام 2015، ويجمع بين منهجيات من تجربة منظمة "ريت الدولية" المثبتة في المنطقة من أجل إيجاد حلول حقيقية مبتكرة ومستدامة للأزمة. الركائز الأساسية من التدخل لدينا هي: توفير فرص خلق فرص العمل كبديل للجريمة والعنف، وفرص بناء مهارات القيادة للشباب المعرضين للخطر.

نحن نعمل مع المجتمعات المحلية المهمشة التي تعاني من ارتفاع مستويات الجريمة والعنف. الأنشطة التي أجريت توفر فرص مباشرة لأكثر من 200 شاب ومجتمعاتهم المحلية في مدينة بليز ومنطقة كايو. أهدافنا الرئيسية هي للحد من خطر مشاركة الشباب في الأنشطة الإجرامية، و لدعم الشباب في أن يصبحون عاملين أو ولتمكينهم من تولي أدوار قيادية في مجتمعاتهم ليصبحوا عوامل تغيير اجتماعي الإيجابي
ويتم ذلك من خلال توفير فرص التدريب المهني بالتعاون مع أرباب العمل المحليين وخدمات التوظيف. يتم دعم الشباب أيضا إلى وضع خطط عمل قابلة للتطبيق وإعطاء المشورة والمساعدة على الحصول على التمويل البدء لمبادراتهم. يتم توفير خدمة التوجيه لمساعدة رواد الأعمال الشباب على طول الطريق.

تدريبات القيادة، والتي تعمل مع البرامج المحلية القائمة والمشاريع ذات الأثر السريع التي ينفذها الشباب المعرضين للخطر بأنفسهم، هم في مركز رؤية منظمة "ريت الدولية" لمساعدة الشباب ليصبحوا جهات فاعلة في التغيير الاجتماعي الإيجابي قدر استطاعتهم ، بشكل خاص. التركيز الشابات وتمكينهن.

ما هو أكثر من ذلك، منظمة "ريت الدولية" تشارك مع أرباب العمل المحليين، وتسعى لبناء شبكة مجتمعية مستدامة من الدعم. كما نقوم بالتنسيق بشكل وثيق مع الجمعيات الشبابية المحلية، وذلك للتأكد من وجود فوائد للمجتمع المحلي ويتم خلق فرص حقيقية للقيادة.

Belize

 

Belize is a country of Central America neighbouring the region often referred to as the Northern Triangle comprised of Guatemala, El Salvador and Honduras. The Northern Triangle countries are facing a surge in violence linked to gang activities exacerbated by the drug route forcing itself throughout Central America. Belize, being so close to this epicentre of crisis, is host to those fleeing the violence. In addition, the lack of opportunities that young people face in Belize, because of high unemployment and low secondary school attendance, create the conditions for similar violence to take hold in the country. RET International’s activities concentrate in Belize City and Cayo District and aim to open up opportunities for vulnerable youth through job creation and the building of their positive leadership capacities. The crisis can be stopped if the youth themselves become productive members of society, entrepreneurs and actors of positive social change.

  • 1.
    The Crisis Affecting Belize
  • 2.
    Its Impact on Young People
  • 3.
    How RET Protects Them

1. The Crisis Affecting Belize

Despite some economic improvements, the region surrounding Belize remains one of the most violent areas in the world. Belize is, therefore, vulnerable to the same growing trends of violence as its Northern Triangle neighbours and is host to migrants and refugees fleeing this epicentre of the crisis. Belize is, as a matter of fact, also home to several fierce street gangs involved in the drug trade, people trafficking, prostitution and violent crime. A growing population, high inward migration and limited services all compound this problem, making Belize at risk of tipping into the same downward spiral as its neighbours. The most problematic regions in Belize are the highly dense urban areas, including Belize City and Cayo District.

2. Its Impact on Young People

Sixty per cent of Belize´s population is under 24 years old, the actions of young people therefore play a significant role in defining the social context nationally. Unfortunately, young people in Belize are increasingly involved in illicit activities that range from theft and petty crime to participation in the drug trade and people trafficking, as well as, in some cases, gang related murders. This illegal activity is inextricably linked to a lack of educational, vocational and social opportunities. Despite significant government investment in education, only around 45% of secondary school-aged youth attend school. Thirty-five percent live below the poverty line and the 22% unemployment among young people is almost double the national average.

A key challenge, therefore, is not only to provide more opportunities, but to ensure that individual interventions can provide sustainable change. Opportunities need to be highly practical for young people and their communities and delivered in a coordinated way, building on local expertise and experience.

3. How RET Protects Them

Our project in Belize, launched in late 2015, combines proven methodologies from RET’s significant experience in the region in order to create real innovative and sustainable solutions to the crisis. The two main pillars of our intervention are: providing job creation opportunities as an alternative to crime and violence, and opening leadership-building opportunities for at-risk youth.

We work with marginalised communities that suffer from high levels of crime and violence. The activities conducted provide direct opportunities for more than 200 young people and their communities in Belize City and Cayo District. Our main goals are to reduce the risk of youth engagement in criminal activities, to support young people in becoming employed or self-employed and to enable them to take up leadership roles in their communities by becoming agents of positive social change.

This is done through apprenticeship opportunities in collaboration with local employers and job placement services. Young people are also supported to develop viable business plans and given advice and assistance on applying for start-up funding for their initiatives. A mentoring service is provided to assist the young entrepreneurs along the way.

Leadership trainings, which work with existing local programmes and quick impact projects implemented by the at-risk young people themselves, are at the centre of RET’s vision of helping young people become the actors of positive social change they could, should and wish to be. Particular emphasis is placed on young women and their empowerment.

What is more, RET engages with local employers, seeking to build a sustainable, community-based network of support. We also coordinate closely with local youth associations, in order to make sure there are benefits for the local community and that real opportunities for leadership are created.