بوروندي

سلسلة من الصراعات بين الأعراق أنتجت حركة نزوح جماعية من بوروندي في 1990، في حين أن اتفاقات السلام التي بدأت في أوائل عام 2000  غذت عودة العديد من اللاجئين إلى ديارهم. هذه العودة خلقت توترات بين العائدين والذين لم يتركوا والشباب، الذين يشكلون 66٪ من مجموع السكان، أصبحوا عرضة للفصائل السياسية والعنف. لتحقيق الاستقرار في المجتمعات، وضعت منظمة “ريت الدولية”  برنامج المواطنة المسؤولة التي تغطي مواضيع مثل حل النزاعات وتعزيز السلام الدائم في البلاد، فضلا عن برامج محو الأمية، وبرامج اللغة والدورات العلاجية وتحسين البنية التحتية، التي افادت الشباب العائدين والمحليين من السكان على حد سواء.

  • 1.
    الأزمة المؤثرة في بوروندي
  • 2.
    تأثيرها على الشباب
  • 3.
    كيف تحميهم منظمة "ريت"

1. الأزمة المؤثرة في بوروندي

تبقى بوروندي دولة هشة بعد سلسلة من الصراعات، مما أدى إلى مذابح بين الأعراق على نطاق واسع والنزوح الجماعي داخل وخارج البلاد.

منذ اتفاقات السلام عام 2000، وخاصة منذ عام 2008، قد عاد أكثر من 500000 لاجئ بوروندي الى بلادهم. تقريبا ثلثهم انتقلوا الى المحافظات الجنوبية حيث أنها تمثل 15٪ من مجموع السكان. هذا الوضع خلق توتر بين العائدين والسكان الذين بقوا في البلاد بعد الصراع.

2. تأثيرها على الشباب

الشباب يشكلون 66٪ من مجموع السكان في بوروندي. على هذا النحو، لديهم دور كبير للعبه في تنمية البلاد. ونتيجة لهذا الوضع الحساس، ومع ذلك، فقد أصبح الشباب عرضة لدعوات من الفصائل السياسية والعنف..

الشباب بلا أمل للمستقبل، بدون التعليم أو الشعور الإيجابي للمواطنة هم أكثر عرضة للجوء للعنف. مع الاضطرابات السياسية الحالية، فإن استغلال الشباب من قبل الجماعات السياسية المتطرفة سيكون كارثيا للسلام الهش في البلاد.

الشباب (سواء العائدين والذين بقوا في بوروندي) لايجب أن يحصلوا على التعليم فحسب، بل ينبغي أيضا أن يتعرفوا على مبادئ ثقافة السلام والتماسك الاجتماعي والحل السلمي للنزاعات.

3. كيف تحميهم منظمة "ريت"

منظمة "ريت الدولية"، التي تتمثل مهمتها في حماية الشباب المعرضين للخطر من خلال التعليم، تلعب دورا هاما في بوروندي. منذ وصولها للبلاد في عام 2008 وضعت منظمة "ريت الدولية" (بعد أن عملت لفترة طويلة مع شباب بوروندي في مخيمات اللاجئين في تنزانيا) برامج محو الأمية ، دروس اللغة والدورات العلاجية للعائدين فضلا عن البنية التحتية للتعليم لأفادة السكان المحليين.
من أجل السماح للشباب لعب دور إيجابي في هذه الأوقات الانتقالية، وضعت "ريت"أيضا ف برنامج المواطنة المسؤولة التي تغطي مواضيع مثل حل النزاعات والتخفيف من أجل تعزيز السلام الدائم في البلاد
تعمل "ريت" لتعزيز المهارات الحياتية، كذلك. وهذا يسمح للشباب أن يكون مستقلا ويصبح الجهات الفاعلة الإيجابية، مما يؤدي لقيادتهم مجتمعاتهم من خلال هذا الوضع الهش وتحقيق التنمية..

اعتمدت مشاريع منظمة "ريت الدولية" في مقاربة تشاركية وشاملة. الشباب هم أنفسهم ناشطين في مشاريع وشراكات مع جمعيات الشباب للتمكن من الحصول على نتائج دائمة

Burundi

A succession of interethnic conflicts produced mass displacements in Burundi in the 1990s, while peace agreements that began in the early 2000s then fuelled a return of many refugees back home. This return created tensions among the returnees and those who had never left. Youth, who make up 66% the total population, have become vulnerable to the calls of political factions and violence. To stabilise communities, RET International put in place a responsible citizenship programme covering themes such as conflict resolution to promote durable peace in the country, as well as literacy programmes, language programmes, remedial courses and infrastructure improvements, which have benefitted young returnees and the local population alike.

  • 1.
    The Crisis Affecting Burundi
  • 2.
    Its Impact on Young People
  • 3.
    How RET Protects Them

1. The Crisis Affecting Burundi

Burundi remains a fragile country following a succession of conflicts, which resulted in large-scale interethnic massacres and mass displacement both inside and outside the country.

Since the 2000 peace agreements and especially since 2008, over 500’000 Burundian refugees have returned to their country. Almost a third of these have moved into the southern provinces where they represent 15% of the total population. This situation creates tensions between returnees and the population that had stayed in the country after the conflict.

2. Its Impact on Young People

Young people make up 66% of Burundi’s total population. As such, they have a massive role to play in the country’s development. Due to this delicate situation, however, youth have become vulnerable to the calls of political factions and violence.

Young people without hope for the future, education or a positive sense of citizenship are more likely to resort to violence. With the current political unrest, exploitation of the youth by extreme political groups would be catastrophic for the country’s precarious peace.

Young people (both returnees and those who stayed in Burundi) must not only have access to education, but should also be able to learn about the principles of a culture of peace, social cohesion and the peaceful resolution of conflicts.

3. How RET Protects Them

RET International, whose mission is to protect vulnerable young people through education, plays an important role in Burundi. Since its arrival in the country in 2008 RET has (after having long worked with young Burundians in refugee camps in Tanzania) put in place literacy programmes, language classes and remedial courses for returnees as well as supplied schooling infrastructure benefitting local populations.

In order to allow young people to play a positive role in these transitional times, RET has also put in place a responsible citizenship programme covering themes such as conflict resolution and mitigation in order to promote durable peace in the country.

RET is working to strengthen life skills, as well. This allows youth to be autonomous and become positive actors, leading their communities through this fragile situation and towards development.

RET’s projects adopt a participative and inclusive approach. Young people are themselves actors in the projects and partnerships with youth associations allow for durable results.