الاكوادور

على الرغم من الاكوادور شهدت مؤخرا فترة من الاستقرار السياسي والنمو الاقتصادي، الفئات الأكثر ضعفا من السكان لا تزال تواجه العديد من التحديات. هذا هو الحال مع الناس الذين لديهم وضع لاجئ أو الذين هم في حاجة إلى حماية دولية، وذلك بسبب ارتفاع التمييز وكراهية الأجانب بشكل خاص. اللاجئين الشباب معرضون لخطر الاستبعاد من التعليم الثانوي والعالي، وكذلك من خلال عدم معرفة حقوقهم. “ريت” تقوم بتنفيذ برنامج شامل في الإكوادور يتضمن مبادرات للوصول إلى النظام التعليمي، وتعزيز القدرات المؤسسية في الإكوادور، والتدريب لتطوير المهارات الحياتية ومهارات التوظيف والوعي بحقوق الشباب المعرضين للخطر. الخصائص المميزة للتدخلات لدينا هي إدراج وحدة الأسرة ككل في تصميم وتنفيذ برامجنا والتركيز القوي على ربات  الاسر من الشابات.

  • 1.
    الأزمة المؤثرة في الاكوادور
  • 2.
    تأثيرها على الشباب
  • 3.
    كيف تحميهم منظمة "ريت"

1. الأزمة المؤثرة في الاكوادور

الإكوادور هي موطن لأكثر من 15 مليون شخص، وتشهد فترة من الاستقرار السياسي والنمو الاقتصادي. وارتفع الاستثمار في الصحة والتعليم، وتوسيع نطاق التغطية للتعليم الأساسي والثانوي ووضع الاكوادور في المركز الخامس بين دول المنطقة من حيث انخفاض وفيات الأطفال.

في هذا الاتجاه الإيجابي عموما، التحدي المواجهة من السكان الأكثر ضعفا يمكن بسهولة يمكن تجاهلها. الأفراد مع وضع اللاجئ أو في حاجة إلى حماية دولية معرضون لخطر أن يصبحون غير مرئيين. ويتفاقم الوضع إلى أبعد من خلال إدخال ميركوسور فيزا (التي لا تعترف حاجتهم إلى الحماية) وانخفاض كبير في التعرف على وضع اللاجئ.

تبقى المخاطر المتعلقة بالعنف أيضا موجودة في مجتمعات عديدة وداخل الأسر، إما على أساس الجنس أو كعمل من أعمال التمييز. ويمكن لهذه المخاطر تهدد التقدم الذي تحققه الإكوادور، ومنع أكثر الشرائح ضعفا من السكان من التغلب على الأزمة التي يواجهونها وتبطل مفعول أي تخطيط لمستقبلهم قد يقومون به.

كما الإكوادور هي الدولة التي تضم أكبر عدد من اللاجئين في المنطقة (في ديسمبر 2013، تم الاعتراف ما مجموعه 55000 لاجئ، 98٪ منهم هم من كولومبيا) فإنه يبقى باستمرار تتعرض لأزمات غير متوقعة، وليس فقط للناس في حاجة إلى الحماية الدولية، ولكن أيضا للقطاعات الأكثر ضعفا في المجتمع المضيف.

2. تأثيرها على الشباب

وفقا لآخر إحصاء رسمي في الإكوادور، و 60٪ من السكان تحت سن 30 و 35٪ من المراهقين والشباب بين 15 و 29 سنة. تضع مصادر رسمية أن العنف هو السبب الثاني للوفيات في أوساط الشباب في الإكوادور، مع تقارير مقلقة لحالات تشويه بين الشابات. الأقليات المستضعفة أقل للحصول على حقوقهم نتيجة "العنف الثقافي"، والذي يتجلى من خلال التمييز وكراهية الأجانب والإقصاء.

المتحدرين من أصول أفريقية والسكان الأصليين والمهاجرين واللاجئين، معدل الالتحاق في التعليم الثانوي والعالي أقل 15٪ من المستينوز الذين يمثلون غالبية الاكوادوريين. الحصول على فرص العمل هو أقل 3 مرات بين الشباب من الكبار، الذي يدفعهم للعمل في وظائف الكفاف تفتقر الأجور المناسبة. ويتألف مشاركة الشباب في القوى العاملة من أولئك الذين لديهم إمكانية الحصول على التعليم العالي، لكن 10٪ فقط في الجامعة النهاية من الشباب و 2٪ فقط يتمكنون من الوصول إلى مستوى درجة الماجستير.

أوضاع اللاجئين الشباب هو مقلق للغاية والإكوادور هي بلد من بلدان المنطقة التي تضم أكبر عدد من الناس في حاجة إلى حماية دولية. يقدر 12000 المراهقين والشباب اللاجئين يعيشون في البلاد. عليهم للقتال حتى يعيشوا حياة كريمة وممارسة حقوقهم في سياق تزايد كراهية الأجانب والتمييز

المخاطر الاجتماعية مثل الحمل المبكر (ثاني أعلى نسبة في المنطقة) واستهلاك المخدرات هي المشاكل التي تؤثر بشكل حاد على المراهقين والشباب في سياقات هشة كما هو الحال في المناطق الحدودية أو أماكن نسبة عالية من السكان المشردين.

3. كيف تحميهم منظمة "ريت"

تعلم منظمة "ريت الدولية" أن التعليم هو واحد من أدوات الحماية الأكثر فعالية. ونحن نعلم أن العديد من الأدوات التعليمية المختلفة والتي تستخدم العديد من مجالات التدخل من أجل حماية المراهقين والشباب الذين شردوا، هم ضحايا للعنف، ومشاركين في عمالة القاصر أو هي جزء من الأقليات العرقية أو مواجهة عدد آخر حالات الضعيفة.

في الإكوادور، كما في المنطقة ككل، "ريت" تنفذ برنامجا شاملا.

أحد الأهداف الرئيسية هو توفير الوصول إلى النظام التعليمي للشباب المعرضين للخطر. ويتم ذلك بتنسيق وثيق مع كل من السلطات المحلية والوطنية. تسعى "ريت" لتعزيز القدرات المؤسسية في الإكوادور من أجل مساعدتهم على خدمة الشباب المعرضين للخطر على نحو أفضل.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، "ريت" توفر التدريب في المهارات الحياتية، والسماح للشباب (من اللاجئين ومن المجتمع المضيف) لمواجهة نقاط الضعف الخاصة مثل التمييز بين الجنسين والعنف. اكتساب هذه المهارات أيضا يسمح لهم أن يصبحوا أمثلة لأقرانهم والجهات الفاعلة الإيجابية للتغيير في مجتمعاتهم
ونحن أيضا نعمل على تطوير مهارات التوظيف، والتي تسمح للشباب التخطيط لمستقبلهم وتحسين ظروفهم المعيشية. توفر "ريت" هذا التدريب إما مباشرة أو من خلال تحالفات محلية الاستراتيجية. من أجل أن تكون مستدامة، وضمن "ريت" أيضا أن الأسرة بأكملها يتم تضمينها في هذا النهج، مع التركيز بشكل خاص على النساء الشابات ربات الأسر.و الاحتياجات الأساسية للمجموعة أفراد العائلة التي يجب الوفاء بها، لإحداث تغيير إيجابي حقيقي للتطور.

تمكين ومشاركة الشباب هي الجانب الشامل لعملنا. جميع الشباب الذين يشاركون في برامجنا مدربون على قدم المساواة في المهارات القيادية للسماح لهم أن يصبحوا من عوامل التغيير الاجتماعي الإيجابي في مجتمعاتهم ويكون لها رأي في القضايا التي تؤثر عليهم. ونحن نعتقد أن الشباب أنفسهم يمكن أن يقللوا من عوامل الضعف لديهم، ويؤدوا بمجتمعاتهم نحو مستقبل أكثر أمنا وازدهارا.

Ecuador

Even though Ecuador has recently seen a period of political stability and economic growth, the most vulnerable segments of the population still face many challenges. This is particularly the case with people who have refugee status or who are in need of international protection, due to rising discrimination and xenophobia. Young refugees are at risk of exclusion from secondary and tertiary education, as well as, through lack of knowledge about their rights. RET implements a holistic programme in Ecuador that includes initiatives for access to the educational system, strengthening Ecuador’s institutional capacity, and training to develop the life skills, employability skills and awareness of rights of vulnerable young people. Defining characteristics of our interventions are the inclusion of the family unit as a whole in our programme design and implementation and a strong focus on young women heads of households.

  • 1.
    The Crisis Affecting Ecuador
  • 2.
    Its Impact on Young People
  • 3.
    How RET Protects Them

1. The Crisis Affecting Ecuador

Ecuador is home to over 15 million people and is experiencing a period of political stability and economic growth. Investment in health and education has risen, expanding coverage of basic and secondary education and placing Ecuador at the fifth position among countries of the region in terms of low child mortality.

In this generally positive trend, the challenges faced by more vulnerable segments of the population can easily be overlooked. Individuals with refugee status or in need of international protection are at risk of becoming invisible. Their situation is further aggravated by the introduction of the Mercosur Visa (which does not recognise their need for protection) and the substantial decrease in refugee status recognition.

Risks related to violence also remain present in numerous communities and within families, either based on gender or as an act of discrimination. These risks can jeopardise the progress achieved by Ecuador, prevent the most vulnerable segments of the population from overcoming the crisis they face and render ineffective any planning for their future they may undertake.

As Ecuador is the country with the highest number of refugees in the region (in December 2013, a total of 55’000 refugees were recognised, 98% of whom are from Colombia) it remains constantly exposed to unforeseen crises, not only for people in need of international protection, but also for the most vulnerable segments of the host society.

2. Its Impact on Young People

According to the latest official census in Ecuador, 60% of the population is under 30 and 35% are adolescents and youth between 15 and 29 years old. Official sources place violence as the second cause of mortality amongst young people in Ecuador, with preoccupying reports of auto-mutilation among young women. Vulnerable minorities have less access to their rights as a consequence of “cultural violence”, which is manifested through discrimination, xenophobia and exclusion.

For Afro-descendants, Indigenous populations, migrants and refugees, enrolment in secondary and tertiary education is 15% lower than for mestizos who represent the majority of Ecuadorians. Access to employment is 3 times lower among young people than adults, which pushes them to work in subsistence jobs lacking proper wages. Youth participation in the labour force is comprised of those who have had access to higher education, however only 10% of youth finish university and only 2% have access to a Masters degree level.

The situation of young refugees is particularly preoccupying and Ecuador is the country of the region with the highest number of people in need of international protection. An estimated 12’000 refugee adolescents and youth live in the country. They have to fight to lead a dignified life and to exercise their rights in a context of growing xenophobia and discrimination.

Social risks such as early pregnancy (the second highest rate in the region) and drug consumption are problems which acutely affect adolescents and youth in fragile contexts such as in border regions or places of high concentration of displaced populations.

3. How RET Protects Them

RET International understands that education is one of the most effective protection tools. We know that many different educational tools have to be used in numerous areas of intervention in order to protect adolescents and youth who have been displaced, are victims of violence, are engaged in under-aged labour or are part of ethnic minorities or face another number of vulnerable situations.

In Ecuador, as in the region as a whole, RET implements a holistic programme.

One of the main objectives is to provide access to the educational system to vulnerable young people. This is done in close coordination with both local and national authorities. RET seeks to strengthen Ecuador’s institutional capacities in order to help them better serve vulnerable young people.

In addition, RET offers training in life skills, allowing young people (both refugees and from the host community) to confront their vulnerabilities such as gender discrimination and violence. The acquisition of these skills also allows them to become examples for their peers and positive actors of change in their communities.

We also develop employability skills, which allow young people to plan their future and improve their living conditions. RET provides this training either directly or through strategic local alliances. In order to be sustainable, RET also ensures that the whole family is included in this approach, focusing specifically on young women heads of households. The basic needs of the entire family group have to be met, for real positive change to develop.

Empowerment and youth participation are a cross–cutting aspect of our work. All the young people who participate in our programmes are equally trained in leadership skills to allow them to become agents of positive social change within their communities and have a say on issues that affect them. We believe that young people themselves can reduce their own factors of vulnerability and lead their communities towards a more peaceful and prosperous future.