كينيا

وقد أدت الصراعات في البلدان المجاورة لكينيا السكان المشردين إلى البحث عن الحماية في مخيمات اللاجئين والمستوطنات الحضرية في كينيا. في كلاهما  يفتقر اللاجئين الشباب الفرص لمواصلة تعليمهم أو العثور على عمل. هذا يترك الشباب بمهارات قليلة للدفاع عن أنفسهم ويعرضهم لخطر التورط في أنشطة إجرامية وجماعات مسلحة أو تقع ضحية للاعتداء الجنسي وتعاطي المخدرات. تتدخل”ريت” في مخيمات اللاجئين في داداب، وكذلك في المناطق الحضرية لتوفير التمكين، ومهارات كسب الرزق والتعليم النظامي للشباب النازحين الأكثر ضعفا.

  • 1.
    الأزمة المؤثرة في كينيا
  • 2.
    تأثيرها على الشباب
  • 3.
    كيف تحميهم منظمة "ريت"

1. الأزمة المؤثرة في كينيا

على مر السنين، استمرار عدم الاستقرار السياسي في البلدان المجاورة والجفاف الشديد في المنطقة دفع بعض السكان للحصول على ملاذ آمن في كينيا.

خضع السودان لخمسة عقود من الحرب الأهلية التي تراكمت في ولادة جنوب السودان. الصومال ما زال يعاني من حالة ضعف ومكثفة متعددة الأوجه التي يرجع تاريخها الصراع المدني من أواخر 1980 في حين أن كينيا لديها ايضا النازحين، في حين يبقى التحدي الاكبر ما يقرب من 550000 لاجئ (أكثر من 482،000 منهم من الصومال) الذين يقيمون في مخيمات ومستوطنات ضيقة، قاسية وخطيرة.

كينيا تستضيف أكبر مجمع للاجئين في العالم، داداب. تأسست في عام 1991، ويتكون من 5 مخيمات وتستضيف ما مجموعه حوالي 400،000 لاجئ. هذه عبارة عن ثلاث مرات طاقتها الأصلية. استقر جزء من اللاجئين بدافع الفرص التجارية وعمل بشكل غير رسمي أيضا في حي الحضر من إيسلي في نيروبي.

2. تأثيرها على الشباب

كما أن الصراعات في الصومال طال أمدها، وأصبح داداب وإيسلي على نحو متزايد منازل دائم لجيل كامل من الشباب اللاجئين ولدوا ونشأوا في كينيا

في داداب كما في إيسلي، معظم الشباب يفتقرون إلى فرص لمواصلة التعليم أو الانخراط في العمل المأجور. في داداب وحده، والشباب الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 14 و 24 عاما يشكلون 22٪ من مجموع سكان المخيمات. ومع ذلك، 9٪ فقط من طلاب المرحلة الابتدائية يكملون التعليم الثانوي.

هذه الاتجاهات تودي بالمراهقين والشباب إلى الإجرام، لتجنيدهم في الجماعات غير القانونية، وتعاطي المخدرات، وحمل المراهقات والزواج المبكر، وما إلى ذلك وبالمثل، الشباب لا يمتلكون المهارات ذات الصلة، والتي من شأنها أن تسمح لهم للعب دور فعال في نهاية المطاف في وطنهم.

3. كيف تحميهم منظمة "ريت"

من أجل بناء قدرات شبابية والاعتماد على الذات، تدخلت"ريت" في داداب، وكذلك، في إيسلي لتوفير تمكين الشباب من خلال بناء القدرات للجمعيات الشباب والمشاريع التي يقودها الشباب من أجل التغيير الاجتماعي الإيجابي. التعليم المتسارع الرسمي والتعليم غير النظامي (غير الرسمي) في شكل من المهارات الحياتية، وكذلك برامج سبل العيش المستدامة في شكل من أشكال العمل الرقمي، ومواضع التلمذة الصناعية، الزراعية الصغيرة وأكثر من ذلك.

وهذا يوفر الشباب بالمهارات القيمة على حد سواء في السياق الحالي من كينيا وعند عودتهم إلى وطنهم في نهاية المطاف أو إعادة التوطين، والتي سوف تمكنهم من أن يصبحوا الجهات الفاعلة الإيجابية وقيادة مجتمعاتهم للخروج من الأزمة وتحقيق التنمية.

Kenya

Conflicts in Kenya’s neighbouring countries have led displaced populations to find protection in Kenya’s refugee camps and urban settlements. In both settings young refugees lack the opportunities to further their education or find employment. This leaves the young people with little skills to defend themselves and puts them at risk to getting involved in criminal activities, armed groups or fall victim to sexual abuse and drug consumption. RET intervenes in Dadaab refugee camps, as well as, in urban settings to provide empowerment, livelihood skills and formal education to the most vulnerable displaced youth.

 

  • 1.
    The Crisis Affecting Kenya
  • 2.
    Its Impact on Young people
  • 3.
    How RET Protects Them

1. The Crisis Affecting Kenya

Over the years, continued political instability in neighbouring countries and severe drought in the region led certain populations to seek safe haven in Kenya.

The Sudan has undergone five decades of civil conflict that cumulated in the birth of South Sudan. Somalia still suffers from a weak state and an intense multifaceted civil conflict dating from the late 1980s. While Kenya also has IDPs, its major challenge remains the approximately 550’000 refugees (over 482’000 of whom are from Somalia) residing in cramped, harsh and dangerous camps and settlements.

Kenya hosts the world’s largest refugee complex, Dadaab. It was established in 1991, and is comprised of 5 camps and hosts a total of approximately 400’000 refugees. This is about three times its original capacity. A portion of refugees driven by informal trade and work opportunities also settled in the urban neighbourhood of Eastleigh in Nairobi.

2. Its Impact on Young people

As the conflicts in Somalia became protracted, Dadaab and Eastleigh increasingly became permanent homes for a whole generation of refugee youth born and raised in Kenya.

In Dadaab as in Eastleigh, most young people lack the opportunities to further education or engage in gainful employment. In Dadaab alone, young people between the ages of 14 and 24 years make up 22% of the camps’ total population; however, only 9% of primary students have access to secondary education.

Such trends predispose adolescents and youth to criminality, recruitment into unlawful groups, drug abuse, teenage pregnancies, early marriages, etc. Equally, young people do not possess the relevant skills, which would allow them to play a meaningful role in an eventual repatriation to their home country.

3. How RET Protects Them

In order to build young people’s capacity and self-reliance, RET has intervened in Dadaab, as well as, in Eastleigh to provide youth empowerment through capacity-building for youth associations and youth-led projects for positive social change; accelerated formal education (ALP) and non-formal education (NFE) in the form of life skills, as well as sustainable livelihoods programmes in the form of digital work, apprenticeship placements, small farming and more.

This provides young people with valuable skills both in the current context of Kenya and upon their eventual repatriation or resettlement, which will enable them to become positive actors and lead their communities out of crisis and towards development.