لبنان

أضافت الأزمة السورية إلى لبنان الوضع المعقد بالفعل التي شملت عقود من التوترات الطائفية مع فترات من الاستقرار والاضطراب الداخلي. حصل لبنان على أكثر من 1.1 مليون لاجئ سوري، منها أكثر من 50٪ تحت سن ال 18. وهذا يبرهن على أن الصعوبة الكبيرة للبنان نظرا لمحدودية إمكانياته لتوفير كل من شعبه واللاجئين. الشباب في هذه الحالات هم عرضة للعنف، نتيجة لحالات الأزمات والظروف السيئة والبيئات. منظمة “ريت” العاملة في لبنان للحفاظ على النسيج الاجتماعي واستقرار المجتمعات الضعيفة، من خلال التركيز على محو الأمية الشباب والمهارات الحياتية، وكذلك، والوقاية من العنف الجنسي والعنف القائم على نوع الجنس.

  • 1.
    الأزمة المؤثرة في لبنان
  • 2.
    تأثيرها على الشباب
  • 3.
    كيف تحميهم منظمة "ريت"

1. الأزمة المؤثرة في لبنان

منذ تحقيق استقلاله في عام 1943، شهد لبنان سلسلة من فترات الاستقرار والاضطراب الداخلي. بنيت على أسس طائفية من أجل الرد على التعقيدات الداخلية، فإن هذا النموذج من الحكومة لم يتمكن من احتواء الخلافات الهامة بين المجموعات المختلفة، مما أدى إلى حرب أهلية واسعة النطاق في 70. وعلى الرغم من تدخل دولي لإنهاء هذا النزاع (في 1990)، التوترات الطائفية والصراعات داخل ومع دول الجوار من خصائص البلدفي التسعينيات و ال 2000.

في الوقت الحاضر، قد أضافت الأزمة السورية الى تعقيد الوضع في لبنان. منذ عام 2011، 1.1 مليون لاجئ سوري على الاقل مسجل رسميا في لبنان، عدد أكبر من المسجلين لم يتسجل رسميا ، وأكثر من 50٪ تحت سن 18 عاما.

مع الوسائل المحدودة أصلا في توفير الاحتياجات الأساسية لسكانه، وتحديدا في المناطق الأكثر تضررا من تداعيات الأزمة السورية، تواجه الحكومة اللبنانية صعوبات هائلة لتقديم مستويات المعيشة الكريمة للاجئين، والتي تصل إلى الثلث تقريبا من مجموع السكان.

الأزمة لها عواقب وخيمة على الوضع الأمني في البلاد، مع انعكاسات كبيرة في حياة استضافة المجتمعات للاجئين. في طرابلس، على سبيل المثال، العنف الطائفي يزيد من تفاقم حالة التوتر، حيث تشعر العائلات وصول غير آمن وحتى يفتقرون إلى الاحتياجات الأساسية مثل المياه العذبة.

2. تأثيرها على الشباب

أثرت كل من الأزمة السورية و التوتر الدائم في لبنان المجتمع المحلي. ولكن حتى أكثر من ذلك، وسوف يكون لها آثار دائمة ومدوية على الشباب.

الشباب في لبنان لا يعانون فقط من نقص الخدمات، ولكن أيضا لخطر العنف والتجنيد في الجماعات المتمردة والفصائل السياسية. على الرغم من أن اللاجئين السوريين قد نجوا من الصراع، تقارير المفوضية تقارير تشير الى تصاعد العنف داخل الأسر بسبب الصراعات الاقتصادية وانعدام الفرص. في المعدل، 17 شخصا (3.32 أسرة) يعيشون في الأسرة، مما يزيد من احتمال العنف المنزلي بسبب الضغوط الاقتصادية.

الشباب الذين يعانون من البطالة وقلة المتعلمين هم أكثر عرضة لخطر الانجرار إلى الفراغ من العنف. وبالنظر إلى طول الأمد للأزمة، التعليم مقرونا بالتماسك الاجتماعي المعزز وبرنامج حماية، يمكن أن يسد الفجوة بين المساعدات الإنسانية الضرورية والمساعدة الإنمائية طويلة الأجل.

3. كيف تحميهم منظمة "ريت"

منذ عام 2013، "ريت" تعمل في لبنان لضمان التنمية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية للسكان المتضررين من النزاع. مقرها في طرابلس (بالإضافة إلى 5 مناطق مجاورة) منطقة جبل لبنان ، "ريت" تعمل مع الشباب على حد سواء سوريين ولبنانيين الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 12 و 25 من خلال مراكز التنمية الاجتماعية التي تدار من قبل وزارة الشؤون الاجتماعية.

هناك، الاستفادة من مجموعة من المواد التعليمية التي تتكون من معرفة القراءة والكتابة والحساب والمهارات الحياتية، فضلا عن منع العنف الجنسي والقائم على نوع الجنس. ويتم تكييف مهمة "ريت" لحماية الشباب وبالتالي لبنان.

وقد وفرت أيضا إعادة تأهيل المدارس، تكيفت "ريت"، وخلقت بيئة آمنة، والتي هي المكونات الأساسية لجودة التعليم.

في لبنان، الشباب أنفسهم في نهاية المطاف سوف تكون تلك قادرة على توفير حلول دائمة لقيادة مجتمعاتهم. كما في كل مكان، "ريت"، تهدف إلى تزويدهم بالأدوات والمهارات اللازمة للقيام بذلك.

Lebanon

The Syrian crisis has added to Lebanon’s already complex situation that included decades of sectarian tensions with periods of stability and internal turmoil. Lebanon has received over 1.1 million Syrian refugees, of which over 50% are under the age of 18. This proves to be a major difficulty for Lebanon due to its limited means to provide for both its people and the refugees. Young people in these situations are at high risk of violence, a consequence of situations of crisis and precarious conditions and environments. RET has been working in Lebanon to maintain the social fabric and stability of vulnerable communities, through a focus on youth literacy and life skills, as well as, prevention of sexual and gender-based violence.

  • 1.
    The Crisis Affecting Lebanon
  • 2.
    Its Impact on Young People
  • 3.
    How RET Protects Them

1. The Crisis Affecting Lebanon

Since achieving its independence in 1943, Lebanon has witnessed a succession of periods of stability and internal turmoil. Built along sectarian lines in order to respond to internal complexities, this model of government did not manage to contain the important disputes among the different groups, leading to a full-scale civil war in the 70s. Despite international intervention to end this conflict (in 1990), internal sectarian tensions were never truly eliminated and conflicts within and with neighbouring countries have characterised the 1990s and the 2000s.

Presently, the on-going Syrian crisis has added to the complexity of Lebanon’s situation. Since 2011, at least 1.1 million Syrian refugees have officially registered in Lebanon, many more are not even registered. Of these registered refugees, more than 50% are under the age of 18.

With already limited means to provide fundamental needs to their own population, specifically in the areas most affected by the consequences of the Syrian crisis, the Government of Lebanon faces enormous difficulties to offer decent living standards to the refugee population, which amounts to almost a third of the entire population.

The crisis has important consequences on the security situation within the country, with heavy repercussions in the lives of hosting and refugee communities. In Tripoli, for example, sectarian violence exacerbates the situation of tension, where families feel unsafe and even lack access to basic needs like fresh water.

2. Its Impact on Young People

Both the Syrian Crisis and lasting tensions in Lebanon have impacted local society. But even more so, they will have lasting and resounding effects on young people.

Young people in Lebanon not only suffer from the lack of services, but are also at risk of violence and recruitment into rebel groups and political factions. Although Syrian refugees may have escaped the conflict, UNCHR reports a rise of violence within families sparked by economic struggles and lack of opportunities. On average, 17 people (3.32 families) live per household, which increases the likelihood of domestic violence due to economic stress.

Young people who are unemployed and under-educated are the most at risk of being sucked into the vacuum of violence. Given the long-lasting crisis, education coupled with an enhanced social cohesion and protection programme, can bridge the gap between necessary humanitarian aid and long-term development assistance.

3. How RET Protects Them

Since 2013, RET has been working in Lebanon to ensure social and economic development of conflict-affected populations. Based in the Tripoli (plus 5 surrounding districts) and the Mount Lebanon Area, RET reaches both Syrian and Lebanese youth aged between 12 and 25 through Social Development Centres administrated by the Ministry of Social Affairs.

There, they benefit from an educational package consisting of literacy, numeracy and life skills as well as prevention of sexual and gender-based violence. RET’s mission of protecting young people is thus clearly adapted to Lebanon.

RET has also provided school rehabilitation, has adapted and created safe environments, which are essential ingredients to quality education.

In Lebanon, young people themselves will ultimately be the ones able provide lasting solutions as they grow to lead their communities. As everywhere, RET, therefore, aims to provide them with the tools and skills to do so.