الصومال

الصومال هي دولة هشة للغاية بعد أكثر من 20 عاما من الحرب الأهلية التي مزقت نسيجه الاجتماعي، خلق هياكل الحوكمة الضعيفة والفقر المعمم. تستمر اليوم الجماعات المتطرفة مثل “الشباب” أن تكون نشطة وفر أكثر من 1 مليون صومالي البلاد. النساء والفتيات الصغيرات هن الفئة الأكثر حرمانا في جميع القطاعات. وهن معرضن لخطر كبير من العنف وغياب الفرص التعليمية وضحايا الزواج المبكر. الشباب عليهم مواجهة الخطر الدائم من تجنيدهم في الجماعات المسلحة غير المشروعة. منذ عام 2014، أكملت منظمة “ريت الدولية” عملية التسجيل في الصومال، وبالتالي، كانت قادرت على تعيين أول آثر لها في البلاد بدءا من الدراسات الاستقصائية لتقييم الاحتياجات والأصول في المنطقة الحدودية مع كينيا وغيرها من المحافظات في الغرب والجنوب لتحديد أولويات البرامج القادمة.

  • 1.
    الأزمة المؤثرة في الصومال
  • 2.
    تأثيرها على الشباب
  • 3.
    كيف تحميهم منظمة "ريت"

1. الأزمة المؤثرة في الصومال

الصومال دولة هشة، خرجت مؤخرا من حرب أهلية استمرت 20 عاما. في عام 1991 سقط نظام "بري" وترك فراغا في السلطة، الذي حارب بشدة حتى أنشأت الحكومة الاتحادية في الصومال في عام 2012. عناصر اليوم من عدم الاستقرار تظل الجماعات المتطرفة مثل، الأكثر خزيا، آل الشباب الذين يواصلون نشاطهم.

رصد تحسن تدريجي في الفترة ما بين 2012 و 2014. ومع ذلك، هو مزيج من الجفاف والصراع وارتفاع أسعار المواد الغذائية، وأدى نقص التمويل إلى تدهور خطير للوضع الإنساني في الصومال في عام 2014.

وصول ونوعية الخدمات الاجتماعية الأساسية منخفضة. ويرجع ذلك أساسا إلى غياب أو ضعف هياكل الحوكمة القائمة هذا. ما يقدر بنحو 1.1 مليون نازح داخليا يعيشون في ظروف دون المستوى ويبقى الأكثر عرضة لخطر تفشي وباء الكوليرا والحصبة بسبب محدودية فرص الحصول على خدمات الصرف الصحي والنظافة الصحية الأساسية

وقد فر أكثر من 1 مليون صومالي البلاد، ما يقرب من نصف أنهما اختارا الذهاب إلى كينيا التي تستضيف أكبر مجمع للاجئين في العالم في داداب، المجاورة مع ما يقرب من 330،000 لاجئ، 95٪ منها صوماليين. البلدان المضيفة الاخرى هي إثيوبيا وأوغندا على التوالي 250000 و 44000 لاجئ صومالي.

2. تأثيرها على الشباب

الوضع الإنساني تفاقم في عدم المساواة بين الجنسين بشدة، حيث النساء والفتيات الصغيرات هن الأكثر حرمانا في جميع القطاعات. تتعرض الشابات لمخاطر إضافية من العنف عندما تحاول الحصول على الغذاء والماء والصرف الصحي نتيجة لظاهرة الإفلات من العقاب على نطاق واسع من الجماعات المسلحة وانعدام الأمن والعنف. بالإضافة إلى عدم وجود فرص تعليم للفتيات، والزواج المبكر وما يرتبط بها من الأضرار المادية والنفسية التي تزال تدهور بشدة حقوق المرأة

الشباب، وعلى وجه التحديد الشباب النازحين، لديهم مواجهة التهديد الحالي باستمرار من التجنيد القسري من قبل الجماعات المسلحة.

وفقا لتقرير التنمية الإنسانية برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي الصومال (2012) 70٪ من سكان الصومال تحت 30 ومعدل البطالة للشباب 14-29 هو 67٪، وهي من أعلى النسب في العالم. البطالة النسائية بنسبة 74٪.

3. كيف تحميهم منظمة "ريت"

منذ عام 2014، أكملت منظمة "ريت الدولية" عملية التسجيل في الصومال، وبالتالي تمكنت من وضع أول بصمة لها في البلاد.

وجودنا لا يزال أساسا في مرحلة تقييم الاحتياجات وأصول المجتمعات المحلية والأوضاع الأمنية. أرسلت منظمة "ريت الدولية" فرق بحث إلى دوبلي على الحدود مع كينيا ومقديشو ومن خلال الجنوب الغربي، لجمع كل المعلومات اللازمة لبدء البرنامج. وتؤكد النتائج التي توصلنا إليها الحاجة الملحة إلى إنشاء التدخلات التعليمية وسبل العيش للشباب، وكذلك، ودعم منظمات الشباب لمساعدتهم على لعب دور عام ذات مغزى في تعزيز السلام ومنع التوترات والصراعات المجتمع

كما يجري إعداد هذا في ضوء المستقبل عودة اللاجئين الصوماليين إلى بلادهم. وقد تم تفعيل هذه العملية من العودة للاتفاق الثلاثي في عام 2013 بين حكومة كينيا، حكومة الصومال والمفوضية، التي تهدف إلى خلق إطار قانوني للعودة الطوعية للاجئين الصوماليين.

و تعمل منظمة "ريت الدولية" منذ عدة سنوات في مخيم داداب في كينيا. لدينا برامج في كينيا والتي توفر أنشطة التمكين والدورات التدريبية الرزق، والتعليم الرسمي والمهارات الحياتية للشباب الصوماليين في المخيمات، وبالتالي، مكملة للعمل على الجانب الآخر من الحدود.

Somalia

Somalia is an extremely fragile state after over 20 years of a civil war, which tore its social fabric, created weak governance structures and generalised poverty. Today radical groups such as Al Shabab continue to be active and over 1 million Somali have fled the country. Young women and girls are the most disadvantaged group across all sectors. They are at great risk of violence, lack educational opportunities and are victims of early marriages. Young men have to face the ever-present risk of being recruited into illegal armed groups. Since 2014, RET International has completed its registration process in Somalia and has, therefore, been able to set its first footprints in the country starting with needs and assets assessment surveys in the border region with Kenya and other provinces in the west and south to define the priorities for upcoming programmes.

  • 1.
    The Crisis Affecting Somalia
  • 2.
    Its Impact on Young People
  • 3.
    How RET Protects Them

1. The Crisis Affecting Somalia

Somalia is a fragile state, which has just recently come out of a 20-year-long civil war. In 1991 the Barre regime fell and left a vacuum of power, which was bitterly fought over until the Federal Government of Somalia was established in 2012. Today elements of instability remain as radical groups such as, most notoriously, Al Sabaab continue to be active.

A gradual improvement took place between 2012 and 2014. However, a mix of drought, conflict, rising food prices and under-funding has led to a serious deterioration of the humanitarian situation in Somalia in 2014.

Access and quality of basic social services is low. This is mainly due to the absence or dysfunction of existing governance structures. An estimated 1.1 million internally displaced people live in sub-standard conditions and remain at high risk of cholera and measles outbreaks due to limited access to basic sanitation and hygiene services.

Over 1 million Somali have fled the country, almost half having chosen to go to neighbouring Kenya which hosts the world’s largest refugee complex in Dadaab, with almost 330’000 refugees, 95% of which are Somali. Other important host countries are Ethiopia and Uganda with respectively 250’000 and 44’000 Somali refugees.

2. Its Impact on Young People

The humanitarian situation is exacerbating already severe gender inequalities, where young women and girls are the most disadvantaged across all sectors. Young women are further placed at risk of violence when trying to obtain access to food, water, and sanitation due to widespread impunity of armed groups, insecurity and violence. In addition to the lack of educational opportunities for girls, early marriages and associated physical and psychological damages continue to severely erode women’s rights.

Young men, and most specifically the displaced youth, have to face the constantly present threat of forced recruitment by armed groups.

According to the UNDP Somalia Humanitarian Development Report (2012) 70% of Somalia’s population is under 30 and the unemployment rate for youth 14-29 is of 67%, one of the highest in the world. Women’s unemployment is at 74%.

3. How RET Protects Them

Since 2014, RET International has completed its registration process in Somalia and has therefore been able to set its first footprints in the country.

Our presence is still essentially in the phase of assessing the needs and assets of the local communities and security conditions. RET sent research teams to Dhobley on the border with Kenya, Mogadishu and through the southwest, to gather all the information needed to start a programme. Our findings stress the urgent need to establish educational and livelihood interventions for youth, as well as, support for youth organisations to help them play a meaningful public role in promoting peace and preventing community tensions and conflicts.

This preparation is also being done in view of the future return of Somali refugees to their country. This process of return has been activated by the Tripartite Agreement in 2013 between the Government of Kenya, the Government of Somalia and UNHCR, which aimed at creating a legal framework for the voluntary return of the Somali refugees.

RET International has been working for multiple years in the Dadaab camp in Kenya. Our programmes in Kenya which provide empowerment activities, livelihood trainings, formal education and life skills to young Somalis in the camps are, therefore, complementary to action on the other side of the border.